So Long BSU

April 30, 2017 5:30

Chapter Fifteen: Consumerism and Complementary and Alternative Medicine

The chapter was all about health care and the many different types of health. Self-care is really important for your health because you can monitor your body to see when things change.

The placebo effect is an apparent cure or improved state of health brought about by a substance, product, or procedure that has no generally recognized therapeutic value. I think this can go a long way. I know instances where an individual was given a placebo and actually felt the medicine response. This proves that the mind is an incredible thing and can change an illness in your body.

Complementary and alternative medicine (CAM), are often used interchangeably when referring to therapies. The ten most common complementary and alternative medicine therapies among the US are natural products, deep breathing, meditation, chiropractic and osteopathic, massage, yoga, diet, progressive relaxation, guided imagery, and homeopathic treatment.

Chiropractic medicine and massage therapy are my two favorite CAM practices. I have scoliosis and it really affects me at certain times. I have “flare ups” of the pain where I’ll see my chiropractor once a week for a month before I get completely back to minimal pain. I also really enjoy rewarding myself with massages. If I make a good tip at work or have had a really rough week I make an appointment.

I think learning about these different treatments is really important. As a future physical therapist, I like learning how other things can help too, so I’m aware if a patient asks me. Many physical therapists that I know will recommend Pilates and yoga for certain individuals to help rehabilitate them so it’s good to know more about yoga.

This week has been very stressful because it’s the end of the semester! Graduation is coming up and I just moved into my new apartment so everything is chaotic right now. Our apartment is still going under a bit of construction so we don’t currently have a stove, so eating healthy hasn’t been the easiest thing to do, but we’re making it work as best as we can. This week we plan on going for some runs and maybe checking out a few gyms in the area to see if there are any in our price range, but if not I’ve made some at home workouts for us to do! This class has really helped me change my eating habits and has encouraged me to go to the gym more often and to care about my body. I notice when I do my workouts routinely, I don’t have to visit my chiropractor as much. Have a great rest of the semester everyone!

Leave a Reply

