How Much Coffee is Too Much Coffee?

February 26, 2017 5:00

Chapter Six: Addiction and Drug Abuse

This week, our chapter was on addiction and drug abuse. Addiction is a persistent, compulsive dependence on a behavior or substance, despite ongoing negative consequences. Five common symptoms of addiction include compulsion, loss of control, negative consequences, denial, and inability to abstain.

I’m sure many of you have seen the show Shameless. It’s one of my personal favorites. It deals a lot with Frank Gallagher, an alcoholic father, and all of the turmoil he causes his family. Although they usually make a joke of him, it’s a very serious issue. Alcoholism is common in my family and both my father and stepfather have dealt with the negative consequences that follow. It’s not fun seeing how drugs and alcohol can affect the people who love you the most.

I really enjoy coffee. Many of you who know me know that I’m rarely without one. I’m currently drinking some right now. Recently I looked at my bank account and typed in Dunkin’ Donuts’ to see how much money I spend in a year there (definitely not revealing that embarrassingly large number). The knowledge of how much I spend on coffee in a year lead to my decision to start making coffee from home and bringing it to school. It hasn’t been easy, but I definitely need to stop frivolously spending money on overpriced coffee. It has also helped me with my health aspect. I have been doing really well and have gone to the gym almost every day. I’ve gotten better at making yummy salads and haven’t been going for late night dessert anymore! Next week being spring break may be difficult though, but I’ll do my best.

This picture is from camping at Blackwoods Campground in Acadia National Park this past August.

Leave a Reply

