Lovey-Dovey Stuff

February 20, 2017 3:30

Chapter Five: Reproductive Choices

This chapter was about things like birth control, pregnancy planning, pregnancy, childbirth, and infertility. It’s interesting to learn how many different contraceptives there really are. I was also interested in reading about how you should plan for a pregnancy. Most people my age aren’t planning to have children, so knowing what to expect is important. The financial decision an individual has to make is really important too.

I was also unaware at how significant prenatal care is. Women should gain 25-35 pounds during a routine pregnancy because gaining too much or too little can cause complications. Also, women aren’t really “eating for two” because they only require 300 more calories than usual. It’s also really important to know what you’re eating because being deficient in certain things can negatively affect your baby.

I personally love babies and I’m very excited to have my own, but that’s quite a few years down the road. I want to make sure that I am done with school and I have a good paying job that has the right kind of benefits. I also want to make sure that I’m in a healthy relationship, because raising a child in an unhealthy environment isn’t okay.

In regards to my weekly progress, I have been doing really well. I’ve chosen healthier foods when I’m at restaurants and making sure that I don’t stuff myself. It was tough with Valentine’s Day last week because so many of my favorite sweets were on sale! I also have started tracking my meals again on the MyFitnessPal app. I haven’t been keeping up with it as much as I should, but I’m working on it.

Leave a Reply

